× Home Our terroir Organic and natural Our appellation Conservation, consumption

Our vintages

Where to find us About us
- LA BANATE - Home


☰ Menu

The vintages of the Domaine de La Banate

2018

The winter is rather soft and with a lot of small rains. The water has penetrated the soil and rebuild the water stock. In February, the pruning is over, everthing is in place for a new season. The spring is wet and wram, giving a important quantity of flowers. The spring rains put mildew on the grapes and extended the period of polenization. The hot and dry summer and some nice showers (80mm on August 9th, 15mm on August 12th) were favorable to a good evolution of the maturity. The grape pickers have picked from October 1 to 5 only the bunches well ripe. We will have a vintage well built, with a lot of material, finesse and a good length.



2017

A very soft and dry winter, the dry and warm months of March and April, the vegetation starts with 10 days in advance.
This advance is lost by the cold of late April and early May. Fortunately, the frost of 26 and 27 April only marginally damages the vineyard of the domaine and the May rains refill the stock of water. The flowering went well in the course of a normal June, the suppression of unwanted buds and shoots and the trellising by hand are completed. Jully, August and September are very dry and warm, they see only 50mm of rain fall and under these dry conditions, the maturity is difficult to build. The grape pickers pick up nice healthy ripe fruit from 22 to 26 September, the quality will be there.

The vines come alive again, the first heat brings forth the buds, the branches are formed. The flower buds - future clusters - appear. Critical moment, polarization is in progress. The grains grow. The clusters close gently, the veraison (passage from green to red) begins. The grains are red, the maturity is built, the harvest approaches. Hand harvesting of ripe and healthy fruit from 22 to 26 September. The alcoholic fermentation on indigenous yeasts ends calmly in tanks.

2016

VSIG ROSE 2016

After a soft winter and a slightly cool spring (start of vegetation 2 weeks later than average), the summer was very hot and very dry (record of drought over 10 years), which slowed the maturation of the grapes. There was no need for leaf stripping, the grapes remained protected from the sun by a curtain of leaves. Just 40mm of rains in September completed the maturity, helped by hot days and cold nights. The harvest in early October offered a perfectly mature and healthy harvest.

The red wines have a dense and dark color with very high levels of anthocyanins and very beautiful tannic structures suggesting an exceptional guard potential.

The rosé 2016 is a moeleux balanced by some bubbles. It present a very beautiful fruity taste and remains completely "natural".

2015

A rather mild winter, a warm and normally rainy spring, a hot and dry summer with a few thunderstorms to water the vines as needed, and a harvest in late September under optimal conditions of maturity and health.

In short a very great vintage with a very beautiful structure a lot of material and great aging potential.

2014

A rainy and mild winter refilled the stocks of water, the spring rather not too hot and a little wet gave the vine a little ahead, ahead lost by a summer a little cold and rainy. The harvest was done in early October at a very good level of maturity and without much misery in terms of sanitary.

The 2014 vintage is described by Roberto Petronio in the article "ENTRE ARDECHE ET ALPILLES - Rediscover the Côtes-du-Rhône, The most popular wines of France" of "La Revue du Vin de France"of April 2017:

This cuvee is masterly, sculpted deeply with relief and silk, sap and a beautiful spine with clean and pure fruit. A wine carried by the richness of the year and a beautiful energy. Nice discovery.

2013

A cold rainy spring gave a little delay to the start of the vegetation, then a period of hectic bloom which caused the Grenache to flow fairly well, followed by a just satisfying summer that did not allow to recover the delay. A rainy autumn and harvests between rains at a level of maturity just sufficient and a health condition requiring the attention of grape harvesters.

A vintage on freshness with moderate alcoholic degrees, giving balanced wine with beautiful acidities and a lot of fruit.

2012

A very rough winter with 2 weeks of strong frost in late February that dampened the vineyard, and put many old vines to shreds. A spring not strongly engaging followed by an hot and dry summer and harvests a little rainy in late September with a beautiful maturity and good health.

The appreciation of the vintage is left to Marc Vanhellemont in his article "The corner of the Belgians" by "Les 5 du Vin" of May 13, 2015:

Medium garnet, he breathes the underwood, spices, fruit pastes. We find the latter immediately in the mouth, currant, quince, burlat show the softness of their bay, the succulence of their flesh, their freshness. Spices powder its tannic silk. A beautiful discovery that repeats for the next vintage, fresh and delicate. The potential of 2015 promises ...

× Accueil Notre terroir Notre démarche BIO Notre appellation Conservation, consommation

Nos millésimes

Où nous trouver A notre sujet
- LA BANATE - Home


☰ Menu

Les Millésimes du domaine de La Banate

2018

L’hiver plutôt doux est jalonné de nombreuses petites pluies. L'eau a bien pénétré le sol et refait les stocks. En février, la taille est finie et tout est en place pour une nouvelle saison. Un printemps bien mouillé et chaud donne une belle sortie de grappes (nombreux boutons floraux). Les pluies du printemps ont mis du mildiou sur les grappes et étendu la période de polénisation. L'été bien chaud et sec et quelques belles averses (80mm le 9 août, 15mm le 12 août) ont été favorables à une bonne évolution de la maturité. Les vendangeurs n'ont ramassé du 1 au 5 octobre que les grappes bien mûrs, nous aurons un millésime bien charpenté, avec beaucoup de matière, de finesse et d'une belle longueur.



2017

L’hiver est très doux et un peu sec. Mars et avril sont secs et chauds et la végétation démarre avec 10 jours d'avance.
Cette avance est perdue par le froid de fin avril et début mai. Heureusement, le gel des 26 et 27 avril n'abîme que très marginalement le vignoble du domaine. Les pluies de mai refont les stocks d'eau et la floraison se passe bien. Le démamage et le palissage à la main sont réalisés au cours d’un mois de juin normal. Juillet, août et septembre sont très secs et chauds. La véraison commence au début août avec une semaine de canicule. L'été ne voit tomber que 50mm de pluie et la vigne construit lentement la maturité de ses fruits. Les vendangeurs ramassent de beaux fruits sains et mûrs du 22 au 26 septembre. La qualité est au rendez-vous.

La vigne reprend vie, les premières chaleurs font éclore les boutons, les sarments se forment. Les boutons floraux - futures grappes - apparaissent. Momment critique, la polénisation est en cours. Les grains grossissent. Les grappes se ferment doucement, la véraison (passage du vert au rouge) commence. La véraison est terminée, la maturité se construit, les vendanges approchent. Les vendanges à la main de fruits mûrs et sains du 22 au 26 septembre. La fermentation alccolique sur levures indigènes se termine calmement en cuve.

2016

VSIG ROSE 2016

A l’issue d’un hiver doux, le printemps un peu frais retarde le départ de végétation de deux semaines. Très chaud, l’été connaît la plus forte sécheresse des dix dernières années, ce qui ralentit la maturation des raisins. Décision est prise de ne pas effeuiller les vignes afin de protéger les grappes du soleil. En septembre, quelque 40mm de pluies permettent d’achever la maturité des raisins, aidés par des journées chaudes et des nuits froides. Les vendanges du début octobre offrent une récolte parfaitement mûre et saine.

Les rouges présentent une robe dense et sombre avec des niveaux d’anthocyanes très élevés et de très belles structures tanniques, laissant présager un potentiel de garde exceptionnel.

Le rosé est moeleux, équilibré par un peu de bulles avec un fort fruité, le tout en restant "naturel".

2015

Une année de rêve! Un hiver plutôt doux, un printemps assez chaud et normalement pluvieux, un été chaud et sec avec quelques orages pour bien abreuver la vigne, des vendanges à la fin septembre dans des conditions optimales de maturité et d'état sanitaire.

Bref un très grand millésime avec une très belle structure, beaucoup de matière et un grand potentiel de vieillissement.

2014

L’hiver pluvieux et doux permet de reconstituer les stocks d'eau, le printemps frais et un peu humide donne un peu d'avance à la vigne, avance perdue lors d’un été un peu froid et ponctué de pluies. Les vendanges sont retardées à début octobre. Les raisins présentent un très bon niveau de maturité et un état sanitaire satisfaisant.

Le millésime 2014 est décrit par Roberto Petronio dans l'article "ENTRE ARDECHE ET ALPILLES - Redécouvrez les Côtes-du-Rhône, les vins les plus populaires de France" de "La Revue du Vin de France" d'avril 2017:

Cette cuvée est magistrale, sculptée en profondeur avec du relief et du soyeux, de la sève et une belle colonne vertébrale au fruit net et pur. Un vin porté par la richesse de l'année et une belle énergie. Jolie découverte.

2013

Un printemps pluvieux et froid retarde le départ de la végétation, et perturbe la floraison, diminuant le rendement de la Grenache. Juste satisfaisant, l’été ne permet pas récupérer le retard. Il est suivi par un automne pluvieux. Les vendanges sont faites entre les pluies. Le raisin présente un niveau de maturité juste suffisant et un état sanitaire nécessitant toute l'attention des vendangeurs.

Le millésime se caractérise par une belle fraîcheur et un degré alcoolique modéré, donnant un vin équilibré avec une belle acidité et des notes de fruits bien présentes.

2012

Un hiver bien rude avec 2 semaines de fort gel à la fin février étrille le vignoble et met à mal de nombreux vieux ceps. Peu engageant, le printemps est suivi par un été bien chaud et sec. Les vendanges un peu pluvieuses de la fin septembre récoltent des grappes d’une belle maturité et d'un bon état sanitaire.

L'appréciation du millésime est laissé à Marc Vanhellemont dans son article "Le coin des Belges" par "Les 5 du Vin" du 13 mai 2015:

Grenat moyen, le rouge 2012 respire le sous-bois, les épices, les pâtes de fruits. On retrouve ces dernières tout de go en bouche, groseille, coing, burlat montrent la rondeur de leur baie, la succulence de leur chair, leur fraîcheur. Les épices poudrent la soie tannique. Une belle découverte qui se répète pour le millésime suivant, frais et délicat.